Ill. State Police Disqualify Firearms Instructor
Illinois State Police officials have disqualified a Bolingbrook firearms instructor, and informed at least 327 applicants they will not receive a license to carry concealed weapons because of improper training.
Investigators conducted interviews and reviewed records to determine the training was not in accordance with state law.
They have given their findings to the Will County State's Attorney for possible action.
Illinois' concealed carry law took effect Jan. 1. Applicants must complete 16 hours of instruction following curriculum approved by the state police.
Denied applicants will be able to repeat training without paying the $150 application fee.
State police have so far invalidated 13 instructors and notified 425 applicants of invalid training.
The state's concealed carry website will carry names of disqualified instructors.
Concealed Carry permits are being approved by the Illinois State Police and could start being mailed soon. This hour on Focus, we’ll talk about who will be carrying a gun and what kind of training the state requires before they’ll issue a permit. Champaign County Sheriff Dan Walsh and concealed carry instructor John Boch join host Jim Meadows to start this hour on Focus. We’ll hear about how the application review process is working out in Champaign county and will hear what kind of training you can expect people with concealed carry permits to have.
Then, police departments and citizens who want a license to conceal and carry aren’t the only ones who’ve been getting ready for the new law. Private Security Consultant Tim Sutton says he’s been working with hospitals and churches addressing security concerns posed by the new law.
Did you apply for a conceal and carry license? Why do you want one? Now that conceal and carry is a reality in Illinois, do you feel safer or not? Give us a call this hour on Focus or find us on Facebook and Twitter @Focus580